Marc Borstel Nominated for 2010 Russ Manning Award

Comic-Con International has announced this year’s nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award … and congratulations from all of us here at Ka-Blam to Marc Borstel for making the list!

Presented to a comics artist “who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics,” the award is named for Russ Manning, the artist known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips, and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book.

The nominees were selected by a committee consisting of representatives of the West Coast Comics Club and Comic-Con International. The winner will be chosen by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants.

Previous winners of the award include Dave Stevens, Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, Goran Sudzuka, Eric Wight, R. Kikuo Johnson, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian and Eleanor Davis.

The recipient will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 23 at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>